Skip to content

the loom is warped

October 17, 2012

it feels so good to be weaving again

I thought by not warping the loom I would be forced to finish some projects

the vest I started sewing has been one disaster after another. It sits unfinished, glaring at me – I glare back!

one of my favorite tea towel patterns. The threading is “huck-a-back blocks” from Davison’s  A Handweaver’s Pattern Book and the treadling from a 1985 Handwoven magazine

kakishibu dyed linen  eco-dyed with Japanese maple leaves

it will be interesting to see what happens as the kakishibu darkens

more handspun cotton, I bought the fibre at a garage sale and the colours were mixed in one bag

I was hoping for enough weft for a tea towel –  don’t think so – not all of it was green

the rain has stopped – for now – and the leaves are piling up

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 3:41 pm

    lots of leaves here, too. take the lawn mower to them! the cotton is lovely.

    Like

  2. Renee permalink
    October 18, 2012 3:15 pm

    Lovely. All of it.

    Like

  3. October 19, 2012 12:53 am

    what would we do w-out davison. nice yarns!

    Like

  4. Kimberly permalink
    December 15, 2012 6:56 am

    Would you share the treadling and which draft in the Davison book it is? They are really lovely and I think it would be a great practice piece for me! Or maybe a scarf?

    Like

    • December 15, 2012 10:46 am

      Kimberly – the threading is on page 82 of my Davison. You will have to play with the treadling or get hold of a Handwoven mag.

      Like

Leave a Reply

