Skip to content

show and tell

October 3, 2012

yesterday I made a trip to Sidney Community Arts Council Gallery

to see the First Nations and Metis Art Show

Stephanie Papik’s felted cape is beautiful, soft and light

the show is nicely displayed and well worth a visit

in the entrance garden, a charming sculpture of a harbor seal

and a bed of Autumn grasses against a brilliant blue sky

we made a stop at the farmer’s market

it has been a good year for pumpkins

my spinning wheel has been busy

3 oz. of fine 2 ply silk/camel blend, there’s more to spin

I rarely keep track of the time it takes to spin a skein

why??  this 3 oz. skein took approximately 15 hours

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2012 5:54 pm

    Beautiful skein. Spinning is definitely a labor of love.

    Like

  2. October 4, 2012 1:11 am

    Jean,
    your spinning is incredible that yarn is awesome!

    Like

  3. October 4, 2012 1:33 am

    Beautiful pictures, I miss the Pumpkin Patch since this year I will not be flying to California in the Fall.
    The cape would fit me nicely, but I find your skeins much more attractive!

    Like

    • October 4, 2012 8:12 am

      Neki – Blandina the honey colour of the silk/camel blend is gorgeous and it is very soft and light

      Like

  4. October 5, 2012 9:22 am

    Your yarn is beautiful, I would not keep track of the hours either, unbelieveable, I would not have guessed it took that long, and I’m sure you are a “master” spinner.

    Like

    • October 5, 2012 9:35 am

      Kathy – not a master but I’ve been spinning for about 35 years. it makes a difference that it is very fine and plying adds time.

      Like

  5. October 7, 2012 5:05 pm

    that seal leaves me smiling and smiling. every minute spinning is worth a lifetime, i think.

    Like

  6. Renee permalink
    October 18, 2012 11:59 am

    Oh that cape is gorgeous. It looks almost furry. But you say its light? Nice.

    The spinning is beautiful. I love fall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

