Skip to content

re-newal

September 9, 2012

many years ago I was given this coat – white cotton – the only thing that fit was the collar

I never wore it but couldn’t bring myself to get rid of it

it has been taking frequent dips in the indigo

I cut 9 1/2 inches off the hem, 5 1/2 inches off the sleeve length and 5 inches off the sleeve width at the cuff

two inches off the length of the pockets and my fingers still don’t reach the bottom

made for a giant with a skinny neck?

I’ve made a scrap patch to spice up the back, using a piece of shibori to match the cuffs

before dyeing I removed the wooden buttons and dyed them separately in a mesh bag

there is enough extra fabric to change the collar, lining it with the shibori

and maybe a few patches! meanwhile the weather is changing and I think I’ll wear it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2012 10:16 pm

    Seems to me that now you have a designer’s coat!

    Like

  2. Renee permalink
    September 13, 2012 9:30 pm

    I saw the finished results post of this first. It is interesting to see how it began.

    Like

Leave a Reply

