Skip to content

experimental weekend

August 7, 2012

after stripping the indigo leaves I tried dyeing with the stems

it is very subtle but I love the soft greeny/grey on hand spun silk singles and 2 ply

original colour on the outside skein, very difficult to photograph

I’ve been waiting for the weather to heat up to dye with kakishibu.

Saturday was the hottest August 4th on record so this is it!

on the left,  2 ply shifu/ ramie commercial yarn from the Phillipines

on the right, handspun singles ramie, the skein in front has had extra dips in the dye. They are  like wire but will be a wonderful weft yarn

and then “what if ?” clicked in, I quickly pole wrapped a piece of rayon/linen fabric, 4 dips in the indigo

and painted on the kakishibu, when unwrapped the fabric is very stiff and the pleats hold their shape

washed and pressed. I’m excited about this process and will be doing more experiments

layers of colour

the disaster of the weekend was this shifu

Nagai-san gave me a large stack of calligraphy practice paper when I asked where to get paper for shifu. Machine made, it is very thin. I thought a coat of kakishibu would make it stronger. It almost melted when wet, I managed to save enough to try cutting and spinning. It might work, for someone else, but I can’t see how it would ever make a usable yarn.

my one tiny sample

the biggest experiment of all was to change to a different web browser. It was suggested by WordPress to correct a problem between my older system and their constant updates. It fixed one problem and created 3-4 more. C’est la vie!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2012 11:57 am

    I absolutely love indigo plus kaki experiments so this was a treat! I agree with you also that calligraphy practice paper is no good for shifu! It’s most useful for wiping the ink off your ink slab but isn’t even as strong as a paper towel. More akin to toilet paper.

    Like

    • August 7, 2012 12:56 pm

      Aimee – yes, indigo & kaki – I’m in love!! hadn’t thought of toilet paper, don’t even think it is strong enough for wrapping paper.

      Like

  2. August 8, 2012 1:14 am

    inspired by your kakishibu-ai experiment!! when i finish plan b i’ll give it a go perhaps on a handkerchief linen i bought for a top.

    Like

  3. Susan permalink
    August 8, 2012 4:53 am

    Love your kaki & ai pieces. I’ve done a little along that line but not near enough. It’s time to do it again before summer’s end.

    Like

    • August 8, 2012 6:59 am

      Susan – I have a very short weather window for kaki and seemed to get it just right this year.
      Neki = the linen sounds perfect.

      Like

  4. August 17, 2012 2:24 am

    I came across some AMAZING mulberry fibre paper during the week… It looks and feels like tissue paper but is incredibly strong. Can’t wait to try it out on my spindle!

    Like

  5. Dee Mallon permalink
    August 18, 2012 3:05 pm

    nice results with the indigo!

    Like

  6. August 25, 2012 2:45 pm

    Did you use the dried indigo leaves? If so, how did it go?

    Like

    • August 25, 2012 6:00 pm

      Diane – the dried leaves are stored in a paper bag with holes in for circulation. I will combine them with the second cutting and hopefully figure out how to make sukumo. Fermented, dried indigo balls.

      Like

Leave a Reply

