Skip to content

indigo harvest

August 4, 2012

 if  there is any hope for a second cutting it is time to cut my little patch of indigo

I was late planting and until this past week we haven’t had any hot weather

the fresh-cut growth seems like a reasonable amount

dried in the sun for 2 days it is reduced to several handfuls 

hopefully with a hot August and September there will be a good second crop

I will be happy with seeds for next year

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2012 1:11 am

    Oh lovely. I am an apartment dweller so there is space for such a treat here. It must be exciting.

    Like

    • August 5, 2012 2:54 am

      I meant no space…sorry bout that!

      Like

      • August 5, 2012 7:07 am

        Renee – I’ve grown indigo before but always dyed with fresh leaves, have to see how successful this is – and it is taking the place of edibles

        Like

  2. August 7, 2012 12:29 am

    looking forward to the process and results

    Like

  3. August 7, 2012 7:35 am

    the process fascinates me–I may have to try this myself once I’m out of the city next year!

    Like

    • August 7, 2012 8:00 am

      Ali – it has captured the imagination of many for centuries
      Neki – the second crop is doing well. I’ve never done the fermentation so will see how that goes

      Like

Leave a Reply

