Skip to content

400 +++

July 26, 2012

I’ve been busy this week and didn’t notice when I posted  the 400th

calls for a little celebration

the coasters are a shadow weave designed to remember the harvest fireworks (hanabi) in Japan

the saki glass(es) were a lucky find in a junk store while shopping with my friend Taeko-san

and the Japanese snacks were a present from a student who is hosting Japanese home-stay students. thanks Lise-Lotte.

 

another find at the junk store was this well used, tiny shuttle. I’ve made bobbins for it with hollow bamboo and fortunately they fit on one of my three bobbin winders .

 

the second scarf and a change in weft colour

when I started this blog I had no idea where it would lead me or how long I would continue

it has taught me – to see the world in a different way and how to capture those moments on the camera

– more technical details than I thought I needed to know

– how to spell a little better

– but most of all I have found like-minded people along the way – some of whom I have come to think of as friends

– thank you all for stopping by and hugs to all of you who leave  comments, they are greatly appreciated

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 3:11 pm

    hooray! so glad you are here in the world in all the ways that you are.

    Like

  2. July 26, 2012 4:21 pm

    Love the coasters, Jean. How pretty they are.

    Like

    • July 26, 2012 4:58 pm

      thanks, Myra. they have a cotton backing of dark blue & gold stars, for the fireworks in the night sky.

      Like

  3. Ruth Griffiths permalink
    July 26, 2012 7:03 pm

    Congratulations, this blog is really splendid.

    Like

  4. arlene permalink
    July 26, 2012 7:15 pm

    Happy 400th Jean. May there be 400+ more.

    Like

  5. July 27, 2012 2:01 am

    yay!! hip, hip, hurrah. and the coasters are gorgeous. note that i’m purposefully saying nothing about the shuttle :).

    Like

  6. July 27, 2012 3:59 am

    big congratulations. i’m glad to have found a kindred spirit at one small stitch!

    Like

  7. July 27, 2012 8:46 am

    Congratulations my Indigo Sister, thank you for all the words, pictures and inspiration that makes up your blog.

    Like

  8. July 27, 2012 12:13 pm

    Congratulations, Jean!! Your blog is wonderful, and since I have been lucky enough to meet you in person, I can say that it is indeed a lovely reflection of who you are.

    Like

    • July 27, 2012 12:37 pm

      Thank you, everyone for such kind words. As long as I continue to enjoy blogging and meeting great people I’ll continue.

      Like

  9. December 16, 2012 4:45 pm

    I love this little shuttle. I have managed to read all your archives up to here…it took a while…you are a prolific poster! Keep on posting!

    Like

    • December 16, 2012 5:34 pm

      Kristin – thanks for being such a prolific reader. I love old well-used tools, especially wooden ones

      Like

      • December 17, 2012 8:54 am

        They do have such a nice patina. And, I have to admit your blog is one of my favorites!

        Like

      • December 17, 2012 9:08 am

        thanks Kristin, it’s always nice to hear

        Like

Leave a Reply

