Skip to content

finished and finished?

July 17, 2012

the tea towels are off the loom, washed and pressed

still have to stitch the hems, I wove an extra little one on the end of the warp

I like this type of weave structure, by varying the weft you can get finished items that are very different on the same warp

I bought a pair of summer pants, 52% linen and 48% rayon, but never wore them because they looked like pyjamas and I disliked the colour, must have been on sale!

they look much better after being in the indigo vat , you can barely see the stripes.

my computer is not happy 😦

if I disappear or don’t reply to emails I’ll be back when I sort it out — does that mean a new computer?? I hope not but my kids tell me my computer is long past its due date. 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2012 6:09 pm

    What a nice set of towels, deeply textured. They will undoubtedly last much longer than your computer! Good looking blue pants, too.

    Like

    • July 17, 2012 6:44 pm

      thanks Alice, I’m very pleased with the towels and now I’ll wear those pants until they become rag weaving. wouldn’t it be nice if electronics and appliances were made to last??

      Like

      • July 17, 2012 8:39 pm

        oh yes, or at least could be taken apart and reformed into something new again, like cloth can.
        the towels have such interesting texture, and geometry; do you think you’ll sew little cloth tabs on the corner to hang them up with?
        i’ve begun looking at my white clothing and wondering what it would look like dip dyed in indigo…

        Like

      • July 17, 2012 10:06 pm

        no, Anastasia no little hanging tabs. I actually don’t know anyone that hangs their towels on hooks.

        Like

  2. July 18, 2012 1:34 am

    very nice towels and as ever taken by your industriousness. the pants look nice too.hoping the ‘puter is ok now

    Like

    • July 18, 2012 7:38 am

      Neki – there is no cure for old age – the computer needs replacing but so does the bank account! hope it keeps ticking for awhile longer.

      Like

  3. July 18, 2012 3:34 am

    jean, i, too, have a pair of pajama pants that i love, but NOT on me–lovely linen stripes from flax. but here’s my answer to hanging towels: old fashioned wall mounted school pencil sharpener. the kitchen towel hangs there, and when i sharpen my pencils, 25 years of ’em, the towel goes over my shoulder.

    Like

  4. July 18, 2012 12:18 pm

    Jean you’re not actually going to use that wonderful weaving to wipe dishes are you?

    Like

    • July 18, 2012 2:26 pm

      Lis – handwoven tea towels are my way of sampling a new weave structure. I give them as gifts, sell them and they are the only ones I use – one of life’s simple pleasures

      Like

  5. July 19, 2012 2:06 am

    Amazing tea towels, they are so beautifully made.
    I will have to bring into use the beauty that you gave me, I hadn’t the courage up to now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

