Skip to content

a parcel and a book

July 10, 2012

my parcel arrived from Bryan in Japan

unlike Lis, I didn’t have to pay a hefty delivery charge at this end

 

three metres of tubular knitted, indigo dyed cotton

and look at the stamps!

 

it’s more than I expected and together with the smaller pieces I brought back I have enough for a good-sized project – stay tuned!

everyone exchanged gifts at the Japanese workshop and I received this little accordion book made by Nat

while adding some art work I was  inspired to create my own accordion book from indigo dyed shibori  samples

the “pages” are made by ironing double-sided interfacing to the fabric and backing it with mulberry paper 

one side (the front) has pockets to store little scraps and things

the other side will get some stamps, stencils or…?

the cover is handwoven cloth backed with mulberry paper and glued to book board.

still working on this. It needs a closure, a title and some words

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2012 10:42 pm

    Those are awesome. Your accordion book reminds me that I have been wanting to make a wallet for a little while now… thank you!

    Like

  2. July 10, 2012 11:56 pm

    Goodness you get through some stuff, Jean! This is beautiful. It inspires me. I have decided to do boro cloth cushion covers fro my living room but want to check out how to do bojagi before I do. I’ve never done that before.

    Like

  3. July 11, 2012 12:30 am

    songoku!!!and both little books sing.

    Like

  4. July 11, 2012 4:58 am

    Beautiful marriage of cloth and paper. A perfect little accordion. Would love a peek at the cover 🙂

    Like

    • July 11, 2012 7:55 am

      thanks everyone – the book still has some work to go. no paper is visible but I plan to do some writing with fabric markers. being a hoarder, the pockets are perfect for filling therefore it needs some kind of a tie closure…

      Like

  5. July 11, 2012 10:06 am

    Will you do a workshop on making fabric accordion books? I’m pretty sure I could figure it out by myself but it would be such a fun workshop! And without structure and deadlines I would probably never get to it on my own either. Your book is fantastic!

    Like

    • July 11, 2012 5:50 pm

      thanks Heather – I hadn’t thought about a workshop but you have started the wheels turning. I love the book, too, and thought about it for a couple weeks turning over several options before I got going. it would be a great workshop – just for textile people. I’ll start working on a teaching plan and keep you informed. thanks for the idea.

      Like

  6. July 14, 2012 11:09 am

    How would I like to come to the workshop! The accordion book is a delight, well done Jean.

    Like

    • July 14, 2012 11:37 am

      thanks, Blandina. I don’t feel knowledgable enough to teach book making but as it is textiles think I’ll be ok. I had fun making it and think there will be more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

