Skip to content

what’s next?

June 25, 2012

one of my happy times as a weaver is when I see the end of the  warp coming around the back beam.

it’s not that I don’t like weaving but I’m eager to get on with the next idea

 often I have the next warp ready to go

my friend Nagai-san, a kimono weaver in Japan has several warps wound on extra back beams. Her warps are fine silk – the epi/cm. are frightening and most are kasuri tied and dyed

one of my students brought me her favorite tea towel, bought years ago before she learned to weave. It is well used and mended. The weave pattern was difficult to figure out as it had been wash so often. As it is a block pattern I’m going to try it in white cotton and a natural linen. 

I have just spent the last 1 hour 55 minutes on the phone redialing Maiwa to register for a September workshop.  Only 1/2 a yeah! I got the last spot and had to put a friend on the wait list

that’s what’s next.

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 7:51 pm

    i usually have ideas and thread planned out, but never several warps. if i was a production weaver, that would be a good idea though.

    i would love to go to a maiwa workshop, i received this years’ catalog in the mail and started daydreaming…

    Like

    • June 25, 2012 8:07 pm

      Anastasia – registering for Maiwa is problematic, the first day they don’t take email or fax. It is first come, first serve. People who live locally and don’t work on Mon. line up and reg. in person. Today I was on the phone for 1hr. 55min. but once waited 2hr.,20min. and didn’t get my first choice.

      Like

      • June 26, 2012 7:44 am

        oh, wow. it sounds like registering your child for kindergarten. it’s good that they open to locals first, though. perhaps i should stay at a hotel on registration day if i ever get the chance to go!

        Like

      • June 26, 2012 8:12 am

        Anastasia – I have considered that myself -but- Vancouver is the most expensive city in Canada. The last workshop I attended I stayed at the “Y” and it was more expensive than the airport hotel I stayed in at Narita/Tokyo

        Like

  2. June 26, 2012 1:24 am

    i would love to have back beams to exchange, spend a day beaming the back beams and have them ready for projects.you are sooo lucky to live in maiwa-land

    Like

    • June 26, 2012 8:22 am

      Neki – I’ve never seen another weaver do that but when you consider what goes into her warps, even before she starts to weave, it seems like a reasonable idea.

      Like

  3. June 26, 2012 3:25 am

    I love the old tea towel, the pattern is simple but very attractive. Is it a kind of ‘waffle’ pattern?

    Like

    • June 26, 2012 8:15 am

      Blandina – the closest pattern I could come up with is a sort of double summer and winter without the colour. it looks ok on the computer but will see if it works once I get it on the loom. on the original it has a very nice texture, nice for towels and would be good for blankets.

      Like

  4. Renee' Leach permalink
    June 27, 2012 2:36 am

    When I think of all the art and artists that I have been introduced to through reading your blog, some I had known of, some not, who are teaching /giving workshops that I would love to attend….. wow and then Maiwa?
    I cannot thank you enough for the inspiration alone that you have given me by posting all of your efforts as you have gone along.
    I llok forward to reading along as you go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

