Skip to content

hodgepodge

June 23, 2012

occasionally I finish something – this handspun bamboo and silk shawl – was finally finished while travelling

it’s very soft and a good size, I’m going to enjoy it this winter

Arianne’s bassinet is waiting for an occupant

my friend Anke gave me her collection of VAV magazines, dating back to 1982. a whole winter’s worth of reading and a lifetime of weaving

I love the linen and the rag weaving, thanks Anke.

while stopped on a busy residential street for construction this curious fellow stuck his head in my passenger-side window, there were 2 of them!

and yes, I never go anywhere without a camera

I am very happy they are not munching on my indigo seedlings!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2012 11:44 am

    yay! i remember that shawl and loved it. so glad to see the finished piece.

    Like

  2. June 24, 2012 11:06 am

    The shawl is really lovely. Reminds me of the vest you were wearing when we met. Is it your own design?

    Like

    • June 24, 2012 11:57 am

      thanks Heather – the technique is wonderful for handspun yarns of differing weights. comes from a little book “Domino Knitting” by Vivian Hoxbro, I have a later book of hers as well “Knit to be Square” but prefer the domino one. sorry to maybe add to your list of books to buy??

      Like

  3. June 24, 2012 2:35 pm

    i think you have such a curious eye!

    Like

    • June 24, 2012 3:41 pm

      Velma – I know you are somewhere between this continent and the southern one – but said by someone with an even curious-er eye. Fly safely and come home with some curious stories. Can’t wait to hear if the roo catches you!!

      Like

  4. June 25, 2012 1:30 am

    the shawl is awesome. and a little jealous of your indigo patch 😉

    Like

    • June 25, 2012 7:25 am

      Neki – I talk to the indigo plants every day, they were late being planted and something is eating them – thought insects didn’t like indigo!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

