Skip to content

progress

April 6, 2012

the silk and vicuña yardage is off the loom, washed and pressed

it is not as soft as I had hoped,  I really like how the brown vicuña weft has worked with the many colours in the silk warp

I used my favorite wood block and stamped an overall pattern on the sudoku patchwork, it is very subtle which is what I was aiming for and now I’ll do some stitching with natural dyed thrums

I’ve been staying up every night trying to finish this shawl but it seems endless – not the world’s most enthusiastic knitter!

 

…and I keep having to spin more yarn – carbonized bamboo.  The accent colours are small bits of handspun silk. It is knit diagonally, when you finish a row of diamonds you break off the yarn and start at the beginning again.  I’m considering taking it travelling and wear it and knit it as I go.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2012 3:34 pm

    jean, i think you have magic in your hands.

    Like

  2. April 6, 2012 3:40 pm

    Lovely sudoku patchwork there Jean. I like that stamp pattern you are using. I have been admiring it on the journal – have a great Easter, only two more sleeps before I fly…

    Like

  3. April 6, 2012 4:50 pm

    the wood block print really adds a nice depth to this piece, it’s neat seeing how you combine all of your skills! knitting has never been a quick progress for me, some things took years to complete. i’m always envious of those quick knitters who have multiple items in their wardrobe which they’ve made. sorry about the vicuna, maybe it will fluff up a bit with use. was it a tight weave?

    Like

    • April 7, 2012 9:51 am

      Anastasia – it was plain weave with a fairly open sett, I was worried it might be to loose!!
      It will be made into a lined vest so don’t really want it to be fluffy – then there is a problem with it pilling.

      Like

  4. April 6, 2012 7:57 pm

    I love the carbonized bamboo and silk. The vicuña weft is also gorgeous!!

    Like

  5. April 7, 2012 9:41 am

    As you work on your shawl think to yourself: I don’t have to sew anything together when I’m finished knitting!!

    A while back I decided to make small mitered squares out of left over sock yarn. Plus or minus 480 squares later, I am now crocheting with black around the outside edges of 480 squares–so far I’ve completed thirteen. Even then I won’t be done. The squares still need to be placed in a pleasing pattern and sewn together and a million ends sewn in….sigh…

    I love your sudoku quilt and and your shawl with the flashes of colour/pattern.

    Like

    • April 7, 2012 9:49 am

      thanks, Sharon – been there and done that!! never again, I’m not good at monumental finishing projects, they languish in a dark corner somewhere.

      Like

Leave a Reply

