Skip to content

naturally naughty

April 1, 2012

I dropped into Knotty by Nature for just a minute

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and look what I came home with!

an 8 shaft, LeClerc “Voyageur” table loom, complete with canvas carrying bag and collapsible stand

an older weaver is giving up weaving, the loom has hardly been used

it has a unique magnetic locking system and the levers for shaft changing are colour coded

I feel like I won the lottery. My students will be delighted, my 40++- year- old “Dorothy” loom can be retired

while on the subject of KbyN go here to see 2 videos Stephanie has posted

Navajo Weaver, Elder Clara Sherman and Stephanie spinning on Navajo spindles, charming

I’ve just started this on my floor loom

warp is 2 ply handspun silk, natural dyes

I had planned to use the navy wool boucle as weft – too dark,  the natural silk boucle is too light

the brown paper I use between the warp when winding on gave me an idea

2 cones of vicuña I’ve been hoarding  

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2012 4:12 pm

    This will look sublime! Wherever did you get vicuna on cones?

    Like

    • April 1, 2012 5:14 pm

      a weaver was selling out – I bought it a couple years ago. It has been sitting on the shelf waiting for this warp.

      Like

      • April 2, 2012 2:29 pm

        remember who told you to throw caution to the wind and go to japan?!!!

        Like

  2. April 1, 2012 5:29 pm

    what a score! wonderful loom, it’s terrific. and the brown is just right. silk (hs) and vicuna together is sublime. sighing here,

    Like

    • April 1, 2012 7:17 pm

      Velma – financially it couldn’t have come at a more inopportune time but I have never seen this loom before, it is fairly new and most likely would not have another chance like this. So-o…

      Like

      • April 2, 2012 2:30 pm

        looks like my reply landed in the wrong place…sorry–

        Like

  3. April 2, 2012 2:11 am

    live dangerously and take life’s opportunities. like those gorgeous vicuña cones 🙂
    the warp is gorgeous.

    Like

  4. arlene permalink
    April 2, 2012 8:29 am

    These finds always occur when you are not ready for them. I’m happy you went for it.

    Like

  5. April 2, 2012 10:41 am

    Oh boy, Jean, how exciting – what a find. And I can’t begin to say how impressed I am that you put a new warp on just before you leave on your trip. Such energy! The creative spirit can’t be put off!

    Like

Leave a Reply

