Skip to content

nine X nine

March 29, 2012

I’m addicted to sudoku, have to limit myself to one a day or nothing would get done!

it occurred to me that the random patterning could be useful for textile design

using natural dyed linen napkins it is possible to cut 9 pieces from 9 different napkins

some are eco dyed or shibori, I’m planning to use the finished piece as a canvas

the first nine patch from the top left of the puzzle

I’ve made a fabric/colour guide

 

 

and a rule to keep me on track  “no substituting colours”

it’s tempting to move things around 

maybe this one is going traveling. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2012 7:52 pm

    i love sudoku! i have a small book of it i carry in my purse; so nice when waiting to pull it out and do some. i think it’s the patterns of numbers which make it so interesting; it definitely isn’t the math as i am horrid with mathematics! i saw sudoku wallpaper in a magazine, it was in someone’s bathroom.

    Like

    • March 30, 2012 2:23 pm

      Anastasia -love the wallpaper idea. could make your own for a small space, humm! I have real marine charts on my living rm/dining rm wall.

      Like

  2. March 30, 2012 1:15 am

    there’s no limit for the creative mind.

    Like

  3. March 30, 2012 2:59 am

    wow. looks to be yet another puzzle to keep the brain percolating away! the fabric is fine.

    Like

    • March 30, 2012 7:55 am

      I can see limitless possibilities with the sudoku. Lis Harwood, who will be one of my classmates in Japan (from England) sent me a picture of an amazing quilt designed from a sudoku pattern — and I thought I had invented something new!!

      Like

  4. March 30, 2012 12:04 pm

    Very clever! I’m a kenken addict myself, it too would adapt to a quilt pattern. Mmmmn, too many ideas…

    Like

Leave a Reply

