Skip to content

post cards on the edge

March 19, 2012

the problem is “when is enough, enough?”

 

I cut a 4″ strip off one side and stitched it to the opposite side, then cut a 1″ strip off the bottom and put it on the top. A technique the Gee’s  Bend Quilters employ.

added some stars, machine stitching and some hand written quotes

using my favorite Indian wood block and textile paints I printed a circular pattern over the top of the  piece

now I’m  faced with a problem I was aware would arise…..the paper on the back of the interfacing needs to come off.  The machine stitching perforates the paper and makes the removal easy, except where there are multiple rows of stitching.

the areas where the paper has come off  contain adhesive from the interfacing which I need in order to apply a backing…messy and slow.

 All this for post cards??

When I started this blog I knew I would show the good, the bad and the ugly. Think I’m finally faced with the bad and perhaps the ugly.  Once the paper is off and it is cut into card size I can re-evaluate.  More later.  

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 11:17 pm

    I can not see bad or ugly, I am sure that you will come up with the perfect solution.

    Like

  2. March 21, 2012 3:11 am

    agree. those lessons sit on the back burner cooking slowly and eventually produce a good meal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

