Skip to content

purple carrots

March 15, 2012

if you want to know why I’m excited about purple carrots visit Nat’s blog here

and I understand they taste good, too!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2012 1:41 am

    they are succulent!

    Like

  2. March 16, 2012 9:18 am

    Gorgeous colour, but, sadly, probably not fast. Let’s hope I’m wrong.

    Like

  3. March 16, 2012 9:41 am

    I know, I have seen Nat’s post, never seen purple carrots in Florence yet. Sob.

    Like

    • March 16, 2012 10:58 am

      Heather, Blandina – I’ve never seen purple carrots here but hope to plant a row before I go to Japan and then again when I get back. Nat has been dyeing for years and think she would know if the colour is fast. The purple I got from hollyhocks last year seems good.

      Like

  4. March 16, 2012 1:05 pm

    I went to Nat’s blog and the first line was “I joined the Handweavers and Spinners Guild of Victoria yesterday…” and I thought (being in charge of the Victoria Handweavers’ and Spinners Guild membership list) how did she do that?? I’ve never heard of her. A few moments later I realized she is blogging from Australia not from Vancouver Island. And now I can say I HAVE heard of her.

    Like

    • March 16, 2012 1:40 pm

      Sharon – Nat is leading the workshop in Japan. I met her through our blogs and now I will meet her in person – 2 Victoria Guild members!

      Like

  5. March 17, 2012 1:52 am

    Thanks Jean and all the ladies for sharing Nat’s activities in this post. I don’t know if purple carrot is color fast either, but the main thing is I get everyone talking about it on blogland hehe! Looking forward to meeting you in person too Jean – Hugs Nat

    Like

  6. March 17, 2012 1:02 pm

    I have grown purple carrots and they are beautiful, tasty and good for you, even if the colour is fugitive,

    Like

    • March 17, 2012 3:53 pm

      thanks Heather – I’m going to try both – eating and dyeing. I’ll show the results and test the dyes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

