Skip to content

equipment malfunction

March 8, 2012

my loom quit working – sob!

the mechanical dobby arm just doesn’t do its job

The manual is useless, it says “loosen the two bolts…”,  they won’t budge

I hate to admit it but I need a man, will have to enlist a clever son

so-o, it was off to the beach 

 

 

 

 

 

it’s a long way down

 

 

 

 

 

the weather is splendid

 

 

 

 

 

 

after recent strong winds there’s piles of driftwood

 

 

 

 

 

 

at the top, stunted and woven trees

 

 

 

 

a bench with a view

 

 

and rocks in my pocket

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2012 1:46 am

    if you didn’t find your man you found great pebbles. i’ll convoke the loom gods for you.

    Like

  2. March 9, 2012 5:10 am

    I hate to hear about your loom. Dobbies are great–until they’re not.

    Like

    • March 9, 2012 8:43 am

      Alice – that is so-o right. Sons were brought up around a loom, they’re pretty savy, one arrived after supper with tool box in hand and in 1/2 hour the loom was working.

      Like

  3. March 9, 2012 9:16 am

    Wonderful pebbles! I miss my daily walks on the shores of Lasqueti – everyday I would come home with treasure.
    And glad you got your loom working again.

    Like

  4. March 9, 2012 11:50 am

    I too cannot go near a beach without somehow coming back with rocks in my pockets! I have piles of them all over the house and garden and now use them as pattern weights when I’m sewing. Glad your loom got fixed ok so you can get back weaving but what a nice excuse to go for a walk!

    Like

  5. March 9, 2012 12:19 pm

    technology…i wonder sometimes why i love my stump or book looms! ha. but here i am unplugged but wifi. ahem. anyway, when i doubt, turn to stones and wood. good choice.

    Like

  6. March 9, 2012 11:26 pm

    I would so love to live close to the sea, especially in winter I find that walking by the sea induce me to meditation.

    Like

    • March 9, 2012 11:32 pm

      Blandina – I love the sea, it is a place of healing and yes, meditation but I have also experienced its powerful, unforgiving and dangerous side.

      Like

Leave a Reply

