Skip to content

button art

February 28, 2012

today I travelled North on Vancouver Island to the town of Duncan to demonstrate Dorset buttons to the Tzouhalem Guild.

 

the highway is notorious for accidents and deadly in snowy/icy weather

there was a snow warning but I checked the webcams and all looked clear

I don’t have a road map, just a marine chart but I know the way, my youngest son was born in Duncan.

 

Victoria is the sun and Duncan the butterfly

 

 

my display table is a little chaotic

 the stitchers did amazing work

each button unique, tiny works of art

 

 

 

one lady stitched a brooch pin on the back of her button and changed her shawl to a wrap, very elegant!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alison Irwin is a member of the group, she teaches kumihimo. Some of her samples;  beaded and woven, the red white and blue one has stylized maple leaves on the top and stars and stripes on the bottom and the thin one in the middle is braided with wire. I wish I’d taken a close-up picture as it is amazing and also feels wonderful.

 

 

I will be teaching another class at Craigdarroch Castle on Sat. March 3.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 1:57 am

    beautiful buttons! i’d be hesitant to use them because of fear of loss.

    Like

  2. February 29, 2012 3:21 am

    the possibility of treacherous winter travel is always a concern, glad you were spared any problems. it’s hard to keep little things tidy, especially when everyone needs to have a turn touching.
    i really like the CA/USA braid!

    Like

  3. February 29, 2012 10:54 pm

    I do not have a GPS and feel very brave in still using road maps, but you go beyond with marine maps!
    Nice picture of kumihimo, this is something that I wanted to learn, I am glad that we will be able to during ‘The Tour’.
    And those buttons…

    Like

    • February 29, 2012 11:13 pm

      Blandina – I’m bringing button making supplies – they are quick, easy and fun. When I come home the kumihimo lady is going to show me how to do the wire braiding. I don’t have GPS either but there is only 1 road running South/North on the Island so I don’t need a map.

      Like

Leave a Reply

