Skip to content

learning new skills

February 2, 2012

three new students learning to warp a loom

it all sounds so-o complicated

but taken in simple steps – of course it works

 

 

a Woolhouse 4 harness table loom

and two LeClerc “Dorothy”s

 

 

I prefer to warp from back to front and that is the method I teach my students

 

beginning weavers start by weaving a cotton scarf  in Log Cabin pattern. They learn to wind 2 warp threads at the same time and weave with 2 shuttles. 

 

 

 

they also learn to hemstitch, weave with a floating selvedge and make a twisted fringe (those surprises are yet to come.

I planned to photograph them measuring the warp on a warping board but they were all so fast  I forgot.

have a group of “whiz kids” this time – they will keep me on my toes.  

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 3:56 pm

    lucky students.

    Like

  2. February 2, 2012 4:29 pm

    You and Bryan are having so much in common and lots of idea to exchange. I’m pleased that you are in the tour. Love looking at all your looms – Have a great weekend – Hugs Nat

    Like

  3. February 3, 2012 12:50 am

    wish i had learned back to front when i started, i learned with the warping all by yourself book.
    kids take this advantage ! 🙂

    Like

  4. February 3, 2012 4:08 am

    Wow, I’m so pleased that Bryan is preparing our looms for us, you’re right about how complicated it all seems. I’m going to sit next to you! Have a lovely weekend, snow here, brrr.

    Like

    • February 3, 2012 8:29 am

      Lis – my class is for beginners, simple, basic warping as quickly and efficiently as possible. It is my belief that your weaving is only as good as your warping – my 3 year old granddaughter could weave on a pre-warped loom. We wouldn’t have time with Bryan for everyone to learn.

      Like

  5. February 4, 2012 5:14 am

    I wish I could be one of your students! Maybe one day Lis and I will come and learn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

