Skip to content

birds of a feather

January 20, 2012

getting snowed-in is not a bad thing

this is a mulberry paper stencil I bought years ago at the Kitano Tenjin Shrine market in Kyoto

it is treated with persimmon juice and has been well used

the figure is the mythical hoo bird known as the phoenix in English.

 

 

the phoenix is the female counterpart of the dragon.

with nothing better to do and time on my hands I cut a rather crude copy of the original – don’t have the proper tools and old hands are getting a bit shaky.

 

 

 

then I stencilled it onto a linen napkin using  Setacolor fabric paints.

she will be the start of a year-long bojagi celebrating the Year of the Dragon.

Stephen Szczpanek at www.srithreads.com has an exquisite kimono featuring the phoenix currently on his blog. He has also written the history and legend in detail.

 

 

with birds on the brain, feathers come to mind so I cut a tiny stamp to go with the two larger ones 

 

 

 

“hummer”  left me a present – for keeping his feeder thawed out? – so I stitched it into a Dorset button.

“Faith is the bird that feels the light and sings when the dawn is still dark.”

Rabindranth Tagore

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 1:15 am

    And I am learning Feather Stitch 🙂
    Have a good weekend xx

    Like

  2. January 21, 2012 12:19 pm

    I am enchanted by your feather stamps.

    Like

  3. January 25, 2012 3:08 am

    I have so much to learn from you, I will have to visit you in Canada and spend a long, long time learning form Onesmallstitch-san,,,

    Like

Leave a Reply

