Skip to content

3 “R”‘s

January 6, 2012

reduce, recycle, reuse

and 3 more, refresh, rethink, rediscover

I cut the towel warp for a Christmas gift, then re-tied it and finish the weaving. The brown weft is handspun hemp singles dyed with homegrown madder.

next warp is 4/8 cotton – a weight that seems like rope to me but I have woven dozens of these pot holders in the past. The pattern weft is 4-6 thrums bundled together. It is slow weaving,  finishing with handmade cotton bias binding is also slow but it makes good use of  large amounts of thums.

another weaving project that uses large amounts of thrums is twice woven rugs.  The warp is threaded with approximately 6 threads sett  closely, then a space and another row of warp threads. When the weaving is finished you cut the length of the weaving between the warp rows.

voila! you have a chenille weft yarn ready to weave on a rug warp, thus “twice woven”.

which I will get to later – sometime.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 6:46 pm

    Such fun projects. Love the chenille looks.

    Like

  2. January 6, 2012 6:47 pm

    thrifty, and wonderful, wonderful chenille!

    Like

    • January 6, 2012 10:16 pm

      Heather – this has been in the works for a long time – it’s slow and I get bored.
      Velma – it is recycling at it’s best and the results are very nice.

      Like

  3. January 6, 2012 8:06 pm

    I made a twice woven bench pad once. It was beautiful, but I remember it taking forever! Perhaps I was less patient then. I will keep your thrum-using ideas in mind now that I’m weaving again.

    Like

  4. January 6, 2012 11:09 pm

    I am not much of a weaver, so I had to read twice to understand.
    Instead of ‘Voilà’ I would use ‘Abracadabra’.

    Like

  5. January 9, 2012 1:05 am

    you clever girl!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

