Skip to content

stamps, stencils and dyeing

October 23, 2011

it was a good year for grapes and the raccoons left me some!

I put approximately 5 lbs. in the juicer and then used the pulp to dye linen and cotton napkins.

don’t know why one side of the linen napkin is much lighter

when dyeing old linens some of the not so obvious stains become very obvious.

The yellow is from the grape-vine, leaves and stems, chopped up, simmered 3 hours and left in the dye bath overnight to cool. I found the colour deepened significantly in the overnight soak.  Two more yellow napkins are soaking, ready to overdye with indigo.

using a wooden block from India I printed the background pattern. Then, using an alphabet stencil from my interior design days, I added some letters. Finally, I experimented with the stamps Velma sent me. Can’t wait to incorporate this into both my books and bojagi. It’s so much fun to play – think I’m approaching my dotage!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2011 3:16 pm

    love the results of playtime! i just saw an old friend this week who ALSO had an enormous grape harvest this year and i saw a bunch of the leftover grape juice, frozen in blocks, in the freezer.

    Like

    • October 23, 2011 6:32 pm

      Hi Aimee – I was given many pounds of beautiful apples so I stewed the apples in the grape juice – what a wonderful colour that produced – and then froze it all for winter eating.

      Like

  2. October 23, 2011 3:36 pm

    Jean, this is lovely. You turned everything to treasures. I love how you could dye with pulp from grapes. It gives fantastic color too even the yellow is lovely – Hugs Nat

    Like

  3. October 23, 2011 5:36 pm

    lovely colour from the grapes – how do you make it permanent?

    Like

    • October 23, 2011 6:29 pm

      it was mordanted with alum, simmered 1 hour and left overnight then washed well. haven’t left it in direct sunlight but I don’t recommend that for any natural dyes. otherwise what you see is what you get

      Like

  4. October 24, 2011 7:44 am

    Jean, you are full of surprises. Dyeing with grapes: fantastic would Chianti grape work? (joking of course).
    Dotage is a word that I never heard before, good to know since I think I am approaching it too, considering my children’s stares when I present a new textile experiment.
    But I do love the printed fabric, I would like to try everything!

    Like

Leave a Reply

