Skip to content

stop – look – listen

October 7, 2011

 

 

where does inspiration come from? at times it’s a river in full flood – OR- a complete drought.

I find it’s best to keep the stream flowing, gently.

 

 

 

weavers sometimes use yarn wrappings to sample colours.

 

 

 

it isn’t very successful for me.

 

 

Jodi Paterson is a newspaper columnist, writer and social activist in Victoria.  Instead of writing a journal she is writing a haiku a day, you can find her work here. It isn’t as easy as it sounds, reducing a day into three short lines with approximately 17 syllables. One thing it does do is make you think about the essence of that day.

Matsuo Basho said that to write haiku you need to have the eyes and heart of a child. I think that applies to all people who create.

I bought this book for my grandchildren but so far I’m enjoying it myself. I’m teaching myself to have “haiku eyes – a way to see the world openly and freshly”,

slowly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 2:13 pm

    even the hooligans like haiku, because its’ “easy”!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

