Skip to content

buttons and – linens

October 2, 2011

a friend called from a church sale, there was a nice collection of old napkins, $.50 each, did I want them?

I mordanted them in alum and included some crocheted pillowcase lace of my Mom’s. Now for the dyeing!

Thanks, Arlene.

meanwhile, I went to a Vintage Fair, the clothes are definitely not my vintage! But, the Bachelor Buttons (no sewing needed) on the original card, the black and red glass buttons and the needle packet with needles still in it were irresistible.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

there was a large collection of Singer Sewing Machine cards showing the machine in use around the world. No date but I would guess late 1800’s. They were my most expensive purchase – I set a budget when I go to these sales! – so I only bought the one. Look at the description on the back and the spellings.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 12:16 pm

    selvedge magazine had an article about the singer cards, i’ll see if i can’t locate it (i’ll email you a photo of the pages when i come across it). the spelling is very phonetic! i wonder how factual it is?

    bachelor buttons are very funny! my brother could use them now, i doubt if he even knows what a needle is. but, he might, he was in the army.

    Like

    • October 2, 2011 1:44 pm

      I would love to know more about the Singer cards. BTW I absolutely LOVE your dollhouse, I had one as a child and even have a picture of me with it but it was not as grand as yours. WordPress and Blogspot have a problem interfacing – I can’t leave comments on any blogspot site. everyone is playing the “blame game”!!

      Like

  2. October 2, 2011 3:14 pm

    this card is a gem. i see we have similar tastes in “old textile stuff”! my favorite treasures are when i find a sewing box, intact, with some farm woman’s necessities.

    Like

    • October 2, 2011 4:58 pm

      I’ve never found such a gem but I always think It’s great to find things in their original wrappers/cards etc.

      Like

  3. October 2, 2011 10:37 pm

    I have never seen the Singer cards before, maybe they were not sold in this part of the world.
    I love your ‘whites’ and I am curious to see how you will dye them.

    Like

  4. October 3, 2011 12:49 am

    incredible treats!! the linens are wonderful.

    Like

  5. October 3, 2011 3:33 pm

    What treasures you’ve found Jean. I particularly love the Singer sewing machine card with the word Japan on it. You can scan it and reuse many many times ha! Those linen would be great in the dye bath. Enjoy them – Hugs Nat

    Like

Leave a Reply

