Skip to content

stripes/shima

September 22, 2011

weavers weave stripes!  It’s easy, just wind them into the warp. If you add stripes in the weft you create checks, tartans and gingham and on and on.

Shima is stripe in Japanese and it has reached a fine art in Japanese weaving. Frequently it is used as a background for other weaving and surface design techniques.

this is a weft kasuri jacket I wove while at Kawashima. The stripes are a plain weave background for the kasuri pattern.

 this stripe sequence came from a tiny picture of an obi.

 

 

the pattern is my M’s and O’s Variation.

 

I need a number of small gifts. Each one will be a little bit different by changing the colour and stripe pattern.

The warp is a cotton/hemp blend in natural, 22/2 cotton dyed with Mahonia berries and a 2 thread cotton stripe in indigo.  The indigo stripe was an after thought and makes a big difference.

  

 

the first colour change is kakishibu. The weaving  will be more interesting using different colours.

the pattern will change dramatically when washed – at least I think it will! You never know.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 5:46 pm

    Whooah! Nice stripes. I love the kasuri and was trying to figure it out, as I have only done warp kasuri. It’s in the weft, right? And it is amazing how the indigo adds so much definition to the mahonia stripes. Can’t wait to see it finished.

    Like

  2. September 22, 2011 6:18 pm

    I mind as well reading Japanese in weaving term, but what I see is pleasing for the eyes, thank you. Are you making gifts for the trip? Me too, but moms the word! I can say no more!

    Like

  3. September 22, 2011 10:55 pm

    beautiful kasuri there’s something about blue and white isn’t it? and the m’s and o’s is very appealing.lucky recievers.

    Like

  4. September 23, 2011 3:10 am

    i never knew shima meant stripe! all this time. anyway, the indigo was exactly the right addition. i am eager to see the difference once the m’s and o’s is washed. this is such fun.

    Like

  5. September 23, 2011 11:21 pm

    I am intrigued by all this weaving. I had mahonia in my garden and I had no idea that it could be used for dyeing.
    Oh my God, gifts for the trip? I am running to my needles…

    Like

Leave a Reply

