Skip to content

frame up

September 9, 2011

this blog is in reaction to a thoughtless remark – mean-spirited and judgemental might be a little harsh!

why do many “fine artists” – those who put paint on paper and hang it on the wall – think they are the only people ENTITLED to be labelled “artist”?

do I need their approval?  do I want to be “one of them?  does it matter?

I would like the same competitive $$.  When it means food on the table, a winter coat and paying the dentist bill –  yes, it matters.

I’m on a colour binge, is it the time of year, the light is softer/warmer? It could also be falling in love with kakishibu or putting all the colours together for bojagi or domino knitting.

 

one of my favorite “fine artists” is Paul Klee. He is a master of colour. A recently published book  KLEE  by Parkstone International Press  is a small gem.

it seems I have been unconsciously picking up on his colours.

 

 

a pink/yellow combination and all its variations is one of my favorites.

Florentine Villa District  

                 1926

 

 

 

 

 

 

even the figs are on theme, barbeque sauce this time. 

 

 

“Becoming conscious of what we really are, that is what we call enlightenment.”

                         Zen practice

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 3:19 pm

    Well said. Do you have a link to the article. I’d love to read it.

    Like

  2. September 10, 2011 12:16 pm

    i hate all that. and i have had some personal critique because i can paint, don’t much, but am asked why fiber and i say it’s in the touch. well, that doesn’t get me too far but sometimes it shuts them up.

    Like

    • September 10, 2011 1:05 pm

      I hate it, too. but, I’m not a painter. So, when I’m confronted I tell them I’m a psychiatric nurse and ask them why they feel they have to be so defensive – and that shuts them up, usually.

      Like

  3. September 11, 2011 10:42 am

    Sounds like the remark was not only thoughtless and defensive but also completely uninformed, considering how contemporary galleries regularly show works in fiber.

    Like

  4. Liz I. permalink
    September 11, 2011 12:12 pm

    You are an artist. You are an artist because you make art, and you make art because you are an artist.

    For what it’s worth, I’m an “artist.” Certified with a degree and shows and a teaching job and everything. And I know enough to know that the old “that’s not art, that’s craft” categorization is SO yesterday.

    If it’s good, it’s art, and if it’s not good I’m not much interested in it.

    I’m immensely interested in your work.

    You’re an artist.

    (By the way, you inspired me to get that Paul Klee book. I love these wonderful examples of synchronicity.)

    Like

    • September 11, 2011 6:36 pm

      thank you and I hope you enjoy the book. I absolutely love his work, it “speaks” to me.

      Like

  5. September 12, 2011 2:34 am

    whoa! seems that “they” are loose and in search of prey.or is it something in the water? went through a similar episode less than a month ago.blogged about it too. guess will have to do tonglen for them.

    Like

  6. September 13, 2011 10:36 pm

    People like to talk about what they do not know, they enjoy being judgmental, criticising and giving ‘their opinion’. Most of the time they do not know what they are talking about.
    We have a word for them: tuttologo, where tutto= everything.
    So, you see, the world is full of tuttologi!
    I love your colour binge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

