Skip to content

“diverging wefts” and more bojagi

August 28, 2011

experiment number two.

 

 

 I’ve always been curious about this sample, the description in the book reads; “placemat in which a design feature is made of the weft joins. Ramie. (Island Artcrafts Inc., Philippines).  That’s it!  I don’t think it is so much about weft joins as it is about the splitting of a thick, multi-plied weft, changing sheds and then coming together again.

 

Obviously it is warp-faced in the book but I thought it was worth a try on my experimental warp. Linen warp sett at 36 epi. Heavy 2 ply cotton weft used single, double and occasionally triple and the warp yarn alternating as weft, but not always.  It’s so easy it’s difficult. Once I stopped trying to make it fit a pattern it became obvious and fun.

 

 

 

for lack of a better name I call it “diverging wefts”.

need to try it with a warp sett closer to 60 epi. and see what that produces.

 

 

 

and – I started the next bojagi (lower left) using shibori/indigo samples. Also, gathering fabrics for the one after that. Do you think this is a little obsessive?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 4:51 pm

    You certainly are an inspiration! I just purchased the Bojagi book and my friend and I are going to take a quick ‘class’ from another friend on Tues. I did send your blog link to my friends!! Thanks for posting such great work!

    Like

  2. August 28, 2011 4:58 pm

    i might get obsessive with stitching after this week!

    Like

    • August 28, 2011 5:24 pm

      Velma – stitching is soothing for the soul, just in and out, in and out. a bit hard on the fingers at times.

      Like

  3. August 28, 2011 10:12 pm

    No you are not obsessive. When I start something new I like to do up to six of them to get the way I want it. The bojagi, is there any technique I need to know? tour uh! What?

    Like

    • August 29, 2011 7:36 am

      Nat, you are a beautiful stitcher, it is no different than any other piecework. I think the beautiy of bojagi is the the seams are an important part of the pattern. that is why I use a “french seam”. with larger pieces it would be more than possible to machine stitch. I’ll bring a piece with me:)

      Like

  4. August 29, 2011 1:38 am

    not obsessive at all, its called honing the craft.

    Like

  5. August 29, 2011 11:14 pm

    Obsessive? No, inspiring. Thanks to your encouragement I started my own bojaji (will post soon), with bigger pieces because it is going to be a curtain and I have big windows. I am machine stitching, following your suggestion (thank you) , and so far I do love the result.

    Like

    • August 30, 2011 6:57 am

      the technique is perfect when light is shining through. I have been thinking I need to try machine sewing a piece, can’t wait to see what you have done.

      Like

Leave a Reply

