Skip to content

blank pages

August 15, 2011

the woven pages are finished. The close sett of the linen warp, double dented selvedge threads and the paper thread has created pages that are crisp and very paper-like.  Fine hem stitching on the loom has solved the problem of finishing the outside edge.

very pleased with the result. I don’t plan to make the book until I finish my book making workshop in September.

there are 6 double pages, they are thin and light. Still researching book construction details. 

when I finish a warp the question is “what’s next”? I always have several projects lined up, sometimes a warp measured. But occasionally I’m stuck, I get nervous and then crabby when the loom is “naked”.  Even when there are several spinning, dyeing and stitching projects in different stages of completion. Guess that’s why I identify myself as a weaver. 

So, what is next?

a Bockens Lingarn 20/1 warp sett at 36 epi

and for the weft? linen and paper thrums dyed with kakishibu, Habu paper moire that I plied with a fine handspun cotton/silk blend. Paper thread dyed with onion skins, more paper to cut and maybe the hollyhock dyed silk/cotton 2 ply? Possibly for the book cover? More questions than answers.

3 old alphabet stamps I found in the 2nd hand store – D H and P – wish there was more.

 Maybe I’ll cut some. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 5:08 pm

    i have a binding structure in mind for you, all the open ends are caught up and disappear into the binding…similar to the japanese binding style you know but functions differently. also, a binding from alisa golden would work–aimee might have some spectacular ideas, too! now for those stamps…

    and i love how you altered the habu yarn! making good, better!

    Like

    • August 15, 2011 5:33 pm

      thanks, Velma and Nat. I will need all the help I can get, don’t want to make a mess. I’m really excited about making fabric books. the moon and stars must be in the right place at the moment because I seem to be on a bit of a roll.

      Like

  2. August 15, 2011 5:17 pm

    Oh Jean, these are beautiful. I don’t dare to comment about it because it’s beyond my textile knowledge! I have a lot to learn about weaving, one day maybe! Thanks for sharing such awesome work – Hugs Nat

    Like

  3. August 16, 2011 10:10 am

    I really love the pages – there is something so beginning-school/septembery about them!

    Like

  4. August 27, 2011 8:42 am

    Love these pages.

    Like

Leave a Reply

