Skip to content

stitchin’ bojagi

July 7, 2011

this is my first attempt at bojagi. It probably should be done using finer fabric and all of a similar weight – but – it needs to work for me so I’ve used a selection of hand-woven scraps and cotton sheeting. The kakishibu dyed cotton is very stiff and difficult to stitch.

the reverse side is also interesting. This piece measures 7 3/4″ X 11″. I plan to stitch 4 pieces and then stitch them together to make a small wrapping cloth.

 the seam is stitch 3 times. First an overhand stitch, encase that with a running stitch then fold that to one side and hem stitch it down. The tiny hem stitches will show on the front side. 

think I need more practise before I attempt silk.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. SUSAN RITTER permalink
    July 7, 2011 10:22 pm

    I REALLY LIKE THE SEAMING TECHNIQUE FOR THIS PIECE…AND I DO THINK THAT SILK OR COTTON LAWN FABRICS WOULD WORK UP BEAUTIFULLY…THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR IDEAS…HOPE YOU SHOW THE WHOLE BOJAGI WHEN YOU HAVE FINISHED WITH OTHER SECTIONS…

    Like

  2. July 8, 2011 12:17 am

    You did a great job. I thought it was much bigger than that from the first photograph. It’s a great idea to make a wrapping cloth of it too.

    Like

  3. July 9, 2011 5:03 am

    i agree with karen, it looks huge. why is that??? anyway, it might be something i could attempt once my fingers are all free. a beautiful way to use samples.

    Like

Leave a Reply

