Skip to content

beach break

July 4, 2011

do you ever have a day when nothing goes the way you want it to?

yesterday was one of those days so I went to the beach

 perfect beach weather on a long weekend, hot and breezy

 

the wind and waves have deposited a mixed salad of sea weed. Sushi, anyone?

 

 I always come home with a pocket full of pebbles, beach glass and even lichen

now, back to work

this is what caused all my problems

using hand cut stamps and stencils I started this work when I broke my wrist. I added some painted accents and stitching, backed it with natural dyed silk and made bias binding to finish the edge.

the silk wasn’t long enough and had to be pieced, I only had enough fabric to make a narrow binding which is hand top stitched. The stars have metallic sequins in the center and some of them melted with the hot iron. I don’t use shiny things often and didn’t think about them being plastic!  

It’s finished.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 9:23 am

    Sounds like the beach was very therapeutic, as beaches usually are. Funny thing happened on the ferry to Salt Spring yesterday – your friend Evelyn O. came up to me and introduced herself – she recognised me from my blog, which she found through a link from you! Mutual friends via the blogosphere.

    Like

    • July 5, 2011 10:40 am

      oh, I love those kind of stories, they’re what makes blogging worthwhile. Evelyn and I met many years ago when we both lived on the island.

      Like

  2. July 5, 2011 3:00 pm

    I was just about to tell you about Heather! It is sort of amazing to recognize and meet a person from “blogland”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

