Skip to content

spinning cotton

April 8, 2011

— I can spin with one hand, yeah!

spinning Fox Fibre cotton on my tiny Turkish drop spindle “kuchulu” from Jenkins Woodworking www.jenkinswoodworking.com . This is my favorite spindle, it only weighs 11gr. is made out of Zapote wood with a Bolivian Rosewood shaft. I take it with me everywhere in a little handwoven cotton bag. You would be surprised how much yarn can be spun at odd moments.

It’s tiny, that’s a Canadian $2 coin, a “toonie”, beside it to show the size.

I’m hoping to work out a pattern from  these baskets to use for weaving the cotton.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    April 8, 2011 5:16 pm

    That is sooo sweet!

    Like

  2. April 9, 2011 6:50 am

    SO glad you can spin!!!

    Like

  3. April 9, 2011 9:21 pm

    I have a Jenkins spindle just like that one, by no means can I spin with just one hand though!

    Like

  4. April 10, 2011 7:37 am

    jean–have gone to the website and ordered my little spindle. lilac wood. i’m psyched!

    Like

  5. April 10, 2011 10:49 am

    so glad you have managed to spin..life reclaimed againxxlynda

    Like

  6. December 10, 2012 3:48 pm

    I love spinning with spindles and this little guy intrigues me. Is it well balanced and does it spin a long time? Also, why is it your favorite?

    Like

Leave a Reply

