Skip to content

red

April 6, 2011

 while I’m working with one hand I’m organizing  the pictures in my computer.  I’m creating colour files and decided to share one occasionally. 

Red is the hottest of the warm colours. A little bit can go a long way. Considered a stimulant, it can raise blood pressure.

 

Red represents  Cupid and the Devil. It can attract or repel, elevate or enrage.

Red dyes come from bugs; cochineal, lac, and kermes. Roots;  madder, bedstraw and alkanet. Flowers; safflower and hibiscus and from annatto seeds, to name only a few. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 7:00 pm

    Love the color wheel

    Like

  2. April 6, 2011 11:58 pm

    Personally I find red rather challenging, but would like to make something red later in the year. Just to see how I really feel about it.

    Like

  3. April 7, 2011 3:14 am

    do you remember one of l.m. montgomery’s characters who always wore a touch of red, be it a ribbon, a flower or something? i, too, love a bit of red, a jacket, socks, a winter hat–and then there’s the book you show-tilting. mysterious, indeed!

    Like

    • April 7, 2011 9:11 am

      Velma – the cover reads, “Tilting; House launching, slide hauling,potato trenching,and other tales from a Newfoundland fishing Village” a gift from a friend who knows me well, and a fascinating read.

      Like

  4. April 8, 2011 5:30 am

    When I was younger, red raised my blood pressure (or whatever) so much I simply couldn´t stand the colour, but now I rather welcome the stimulation… 😉 – thanks for your comment – it´s a part of an old garment I used for “Morgen” a friend gave me after he´d worn it to exhaustion , I like using such “experienced” pieces of cloth…

    Like

  5. Evelyn Oldroyd permalink
    April 8, 2011 10:15 am

    Colour files – what a great idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

