Skip to content

button, button

February 20, 2011

–as a child, my mother made most of my clothes. I learned to make doll’s clothes from the scraps and spent hours sorting the button box.  

I still have some of those buttons. Plastic ones from house dresses,  melted in spots from a hot iron. Jet glass buttons worn on mourning clothes.

Mother-of-pearl and shell buttons, I still buy them when I find interesting ones.  The rough part of the shell often visible on the back. Tiny ones from baby clothes. And carved in the shape of a flower.

And beautiful buckles from tea dresses.

Glass and metal antique buttons. The small square one (top left) is glass as are the sets of  beige ones. And look at the detail on the small metal buttons.

And beaded buttons I make to use on hand-woven clothing.

All tiny gems.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. peggy permalink
    February 20, 2011 4:08 pm

    Why is it we love these little pieces of the past. The buttons I have from my mother and grandmother, I consider to be amongst my most prized possessions. I can go treasure hunting at an antique store and come home with $5.00 worth of buttons and think I have won the lottery. Simple pleasures are the best.

    Like

  2. February 20, 2011 4:13 pm

    it’s amazing that so many of us respond to such ordinary objects. I wouldn’t part with those melted plastic buttons. Only yesterday I came home with a $2 pkg. of mother-of-pearl buttons feeling like a had found a treasure.

    Like

  3. February 20, 2011 5:42 pm

    i remember hours i spent with mom’s button box, now mine. i love those tiny objects for the memories, and i love your handbeaded buttons, too.

    Like

  4. February 21, 2011 5:21 am

    I have a huge box of assorted buttons..l love buttons.Some are my family buttons,l pick many up from charity shops and often pick them up from the street (much to my husband’s hooror..poor man) !x Love loads of your buttons.x

    Like

Leave a Reply

