Skip to content

weaving exchange

February 10, 2011

several months ago I challenged my weaving students to participate in a weaving exchange. Five of them accepted the challenge and I made the sixth. They decided to weave napkins, each of them choosing a different overshot pattern and their own weft colour in cotton, cottolin or bamboo. I set some rules,they all had to be the same size, warped at 22′ x 22″ they finished at approximately 21″ x 20″. We purchased the warp together, 16/2 cotton in natural.  I don’t need more napkins and decided to use a fine handspun 2 ply wool in natural grey and indigo for my weft. I wove an extra 3 squares to make a small coverlet. Two student squares are still in the weaving stage.

That’s my living room carpet in the empty spaces. I wanted to get an idea of what they would look like.

Photos are wonderful to show the patterns — and where it would be nice to make changes. Of course it’s too late!

Now it’s time to consider putting them together and how to deal with variations in size.

I considered using commercial fabric which seems to be the most common choice. But in the interest of stash reduction I decided to weave 2.75″ strips to stitch between the squares,  9.5 yards of it. This can be extremely boring, it should go fairly quickly but  still requires the same number of weft shots as is necessary for much wider fabric.

Cotton warp and weft, indigo dyed with the weft a little heavier than the warp — maybe it will weave a little faster.

Once  they are together I’ll decide whether to weave a wider border to go around the outside.

Think I’ll stock up on talking books!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 5:08 pm

    i can’t believe you’re weaving those strips! you are amazing! the quilt will be worth it. but, oh, my!

    Like

Leave a Reply

