Skip to content

surface design

January 28, 2011

I’ve enjoy using stamps to create surface design on different materials. Wood blocks from India are intriguing but I like to cut blocks from a rubber-like material available at art supply stores. It works well on paper and smooth fabrics.

Also, for cards and wrapping paper and I’ve tried it on some of the pages of my book.

The paper doll cut-out stamp was designed and cut by the daughter of one of my students, charming in its simplicity.

Stamping works well on smooth, commercial fabrics. I use French Setacolor paints which are heat set with an iron, washable and don’t change the “hand”of  fabric or make it stiff. It comes in wonderful colours and they are easily mixed.

It is more difficult on a textured handwoven. Now I have to think of a creative way to make this look a little better. The quilt has been used as a sampler as well as recycling handwovens so it fits in with the spirit of the piece. It was stamped with a beautiful handcarved, teak block from India.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 11:17 am

    it takes much thought, and experimentation, sometimes. love those curve repeats. and the leaf!

    Like

  2. November 28, 2012 11:26 am

    I saw the little paper dolls stamp in another one of your posts, and before I knew it was done by a child, it was my favorite. Has a little of Yanagi’s mengei about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

