Skip to content

moving forward

January 2, 2011

I’ve been putting on a new warp–and in every step there has been problems, some small and some not so small. It felt like I was going backwards. Not my intended start to a new year. After a sleepless night, when I worked it all out in my head. And then a full morning at the loom when I worked it out in reality, I’m now weaving in the right direction.

 Threading the heddles, sleying the reed and hem stitching,  just to get started. I’m always surprised, after so many years of weaving, that I can still get into such a muddle. This is a variation of one of my favorite weave structures. Eight harness/shaft twill blocks with a plain weave stripe occasionally. The twill and plain weave are sett at different e.p.i. and the plain weave is threaded on 2 separate harnesses/shafts, using a total of 10 shafts. The weight of the handspun silk varies, some is 2 ply and some singles.

    In the end it looks like it will be worth the effort.

I view a new year like a blank page or an empty loom. An opportunity to go on a new adventure. Live in the moment, hang on tight and enjoy the ride. Hoping that the surprises along the way will be good ones.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 3:46 pm

    i can imagine how this silk feels. yum! it looks like it will be worth the extra work. i thought you were working on 10 harnesses (photos) and thanks for the explanation.

    Like

    • January 2, 2011 5:11 pm

      the loom is 16 shafts but it is surprising how often I use only 4 or 8 shafts. I use the extra for selvedges, plain and twills combined and woven shibori. I belonged to Complex Weavers for a number of years but–just because you can do it, sometimes I had to wonder WHY? Guess I’m just a plain Jean.

      Like

  2. January 3, 2011 10:41 am

    l also look at a new year as a new page in my life. Lets just hope that this year is a good one for us and full of interesting surprises!xlynda

    Like

Leave a Reply

