Skip to content

spinning

December 8, 2010

I’m spinning–enough of the Christmas traffic, parking and line-ups. The double weave is progressing very nicely on the loom and I’m thinking of the next warp. Possibly using the handspun silk I natural dyed in the summer. Fine 2 ply and it is taking a long time to spin. I’m at the plying stage but even that is taking many hours.  

 I blended the colours with hand cards and have some blue and honey left that I plan to spin as a single colour. Until I see the finished product I won’t decide what to weave with it.

The wheel I spin on almost every day is a Journey Wheel from Jonathan Bosworth in Massachusetts. It is signed and dated Dec. 1980. It has served me well.

I also enjoy spinning on a drop spindle and am slowly gathering a little collection.

The little Turkish spindle, center front only weighs 11gms., is made from Targhee wood. It comes from Jenkins Woodworking and is my all time favorite.

The fibre is Fox Fiber cotton and it is the brown yarn in the tea towel.

Spin on!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 3:09 am

    i can’t believe how spinning has seen me through different times in my life. i find spinning paper so different from other fibers, but just as satisfying. do you spin paper on the journey wheel?

    Like

  2. December 9, 2010 8:07 am

    spinning is an addiction for me,when I can’t do anything else I sit and spin. I do spin paper on the Journey wheel but it is very fast–I prefer to spin it on a drop spindle and yes, it is different than fibre. I like the feel of it moving through my fingers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

