Skip to content

colour in the compost

November 8, 2010

I’ve been taking advantage of the amazing weather and have finished several days of an all out attack on the garden. Pruning, cutting, weeding and raking with several trips to the municipal compost. Tomorrow I pick up my new car so no nasty bags of garden stuff–at least for a while!

This weekend I’m participating in a small pre-Christmas sale so now I have to concentrate on finishing some small items . I get to sit for 2 days and spin–and, of course–talk. Both specialities of mine.

This is the cotton  I eco-dyed. I also dyed 2 threadbare linen damask napkins. Then I stitched the napkins to the tablecloth and dyed them again.

You can see the damask pattern on the napkin. It has roses, my Mother’s favorite flower. I rolled the fabric and tied it like a sausage. Steamed it for an hour and then cooked it in the sun for 10 days.

Now I’m adding another layer, leaves,weavette squares and stitching. There’s more to do, it will take some time. It’s quiet, meditative  work. I’ve cross stitched some roses to repeat the pattern on the napkins.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

