Skip to content

dyeing with mushrooms

October 28, 2010

They’re back! I’ve lived in my current home for 16 years and last year was the first time  the amanita muscaria popped up on the boulevard. Just 2 of them. They are growing under birch trees which is one of their known habitats. This year we seem to have a small colony, so I am able to observe the growth pattern. But, they don’t dye fibre and they are NOT considered safe to eat.

They push through the grass as little bumps and only get their red colour after exposure to the air/light.

I use 2 books to identify mushrooms. “All That the Rain Promises, and More” a guide to Western Mushrooms by David Arora. It identifies dye mushrooms and even pictures dyed yarn, 2 sweaters and a dog with a yellow dye job. It’s easy to use, packed full of interesting info and is pocketbook size to fit in a backpack. I’ve had good fun and success dyeing from this book.

The second book is “The Rainbow Beneath My Feet” by Arleen Rainis Bessette and Alan E. Bessette. It is strictly a dyer’s guide to mushrooms and is quite technical.

I still buy the mushrooms I eat from the store!

Now is the time to try dyeing with fungi.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 9:43 am

    i did SO much mushroom dyeing for a while that i burnt out. but never did i find these babies, perhaps out climate is a little too harsh? i would love to know them better in order to eat from the floor of the woods.

    Like

  2. November 18, 2010 1:35 am

    I like browsing your site because you can always bring us new and cool stuff, I think that I ought to at least say thanks for your hard work.

    – Henry

    Like

Leave a Reply

